This Week in Toriland: Part 3

Hello everyone. I hope that you are all having a safe and relaxing Saturday, and that you get a chance to slow down a little bit and enjoy yourself today.

I was able to just relax for a little bit this morning and it was so good. My car was in the shop so I was practically force to stay at home and read and drink tea and take a nice warm bath, which was great because it’s officially Not Summer here in Texas and I’ve been a little chilly! Also, I didn’t include enough jackets in my capsule wardrobe, so I may have to cheat a little bit…

But on to the good stuff! Here’s what I’ve been loving this week…

14_poached egg 1

  1. Making a Poached Egg in the Microwave – I’ve always loved the idea of poached eggs, but never knew how to make them. I mean, I know I have Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking on my shelf, but it always seemed like such a sin to mess up with Julia at the helm so I never attempted it. But this pin made it look so easy. Less than one minute and minimal mess, I could at least give it a try. And it totally worked! That’s my egg up there! I am going to make poached eggs my thing. I already want to try this and this and this recipe
  2. Sweet with Heat Nuts  by Averie Cooks- Not gonna lie, I just took these out of the oven. I made them several times last winter and I love them. So when I saw that nuts were on sale I knew what I had to do. These nuts are super easy, and just enough spice to keep them from being too sweet. I could eat them all in one sitting, but I wont, because nuts are expensive.
  3. Three Essentials of a Great Travel Outfit by Unfancy – I’m travelling next week and I’m a little nervous about it. I hate flying alone, because my worst-case-scenario mentality just gets a little too intense. To cope, I’ve been researching how to fly comfortably. This outfit fits the bill. I just got sweatpants similar to this (which are considered lounge wear in the capsule wardrobe, and therefore totally don’t count against me) and I think I could pull this off to stay comfy while I travel but not look like a total slob when I arrive. 
  4. Seven Questions to Bring Happiness Closer – I’ll admit I was having a down-in-the-dumps week this week. I’ve been frustrated by always feeling busy, by losing two hours (or  more) every day in my commute, by spending too much time getting annoyed by people on Facebook and not enough time reading, writing letters, lesson plans or blog posts. I felt ineffective, impulse driven and guilty. I am the personal embodiment of the own-worst-critic phenomenon and it was hitting me hard this week. Like my boyfriend actually bought me flowers because he could tell I was discouraged (thank you, baby). This article is a good way to put things in perspective without falling into the cheap ways we make ourselves feel good. It helped me to feel just a little bit better about myself this week.   
  5. Emily Hearn – So I actually finally got another CD for my car, because for some reason, I can’t seem to justify CD purchases. Anyways, the CD is by Emily Hearn, who I found off Spotify and I really like her music. Her vocals are really fun to sing and her lyrics are always thoughtful and I appreciate that. I’ve actually listened to much fewer podcasts this week because I didn’t want to stop listing to Emily. Here’s one of my favorites off the album (who am I kidding? They’re all my favorites…)
Leave a Reply

