This Week in Toriland: Part 2

Hello again.

Even though Halloween is over, things only seem to speed up from here to the end of the year. I feel like I’ve been rushing a lot this week, trying to fit everything in. I’m lucky that I have a lot of good things to fit in, but this next week I’m going to focus on slowing down a little bit. I hope you can slow down a bit too, grab a nice warm cup of tea (or coffee) and have a quiet moment doing something you love.

Here’s what I’ve been loving this week:

Out of Sorts1. Out of Sorts by Sarah Bessey – I’ve been so excited for Sarah Bessey’s latest book. I had preordered it several months ago and I assumed I would just blaze through it. Now that I actually have it, I’ve been taking my time reading it. I find that I only want to read it when I know I won’t be distracted (this isn’t very often). I’ve been stealing quiet moments here and there to read it and I think it’s going to be very timely book for me. There’s also a playlist and some free art prints to accompany the book! I’m always a sucker for free printables.

loft1

  1. Loft by Brooklyn Tweed – This week my parents went on a little trip down to Austin, and while they were there they stopped by Hill Country Weavers and bought me yarn! I finally have my own Brooklyn Tweed yarn! I’ve been drooling over this yarn for probably about two years, but never actually took the leap and bought it. It’s only of those luxuries that I have trouble allowing myself, even though it’s not actually that expensive. But now it’s mine! It’s so much softer than I expected for as rustic as it looks. I can’t wait to pick a pattern and knit it up.

3. The 20/20 Rule– I’ve been cleaning out a ton on stuff in my room this week, selling some books, going through the yarn stash and cleaning out my closet. This rule deals with all of those “just in case” items that we keep around but never use. Basically, if you can replace it with less than $20, in less than 20 minutes, and it hasn’t been used recently, it’s time to let it go. Those half cut sheets of craft foam? Gone. The busted water colors that keep spilling colored powder everywhere? Goodbye. It’s been a really good way to gauge what to keep and what to let go.

Olive Utility Bag

4. Barnes and Noble Olive Utility Tote– So between the knitting and the reading and the inability to carry a small amount of stuff, I pretty much wreck every purse I own. With my last bag, the purse straps were threatening to tear in two at any second. So I went back to what I know and love and bought another Barnes and Noble Bag. These are the only bags that can stand up to my abuse. I had owned one in the past and love it, but it was white so it started to look really gross after a while. I think I’ll get a lot of use out of this one.

5. 6 Questions to Discover Your Most Meaningful Pursuits – As I’ve been low-key tracking the minimalist movement from the sidelines it has become clear that it’s less about getting rid of stuff and more about living intentionally. Intentionally is millennial speak for “on purpose.” It’s about living with less so you can afford to do what you love and give where you’re passionate. I liked this blog post because it does a good job of cutting through the clutter and half-dreams to find the things that really make us dream. Question number 3 was especially insightful for me; “What would I spend my day doing if I knew I couldn’t fail?”  I immediately thought about writing. I miss my research and I getting to share what I’ve learned. So don’t be surprised if you see a little bit more of that pop up on here. I’m just trying things out and seeing what fits.

Leave a Reply

