Crunch Time

ImageWe have entered crunch time. What is crunch time, you ask? Crunch time is when Tori has too much to do and panics all the way until the semester ends. 

I have all sorts of papers to write (all sorts), research to do, books to read, sleep to ignore. You get the picture. 

Fortunately, I think that everyone else at school is in the same boat. The panic boat. Since we’re all in this state of panic we have this sense of solidarity. At least, it makes me feel better to think of it that way. 

Amid all of this busyness, I did manage to achieve one of my March goals (three days late, give me a break). This week I went to an art museum. I managed to work it in so it counted for one of my projects, so I don’t even have to feel guilty about it. I went to the Meadows Museum on campus (I mean, how easy is that?), which I had surprisingly never been to. It’s a pretty cool little museum. I’d like to go back with my Dad sometimes, and maybe spend more time there, since I only had an hour. I particularly liked the early Renaissance paintings. There were also some great altarpieces that were beautifully detailed (though sometimes in the most morbid ways). Unfortunately, I didn’t get an pictures, as photography was not allowed inside (and it was raining outside).

Have a picture of a tulip instead.

ImageI’ve been playing around a bit more than usual in Photoshop. I’ve recently become interested in the HDR effect, which I haven’t actually achieved yet…

But imitation HDR I can do. I’ve got that one down…sorta. 

One of the things that I always tell myself is that when I’m a Grown Up and have a steady teaching job, I’m going to take a photography course. Photography has always been a love of mine and it’s something I’ve always wanted to formally know how to do, but have never had the extra time to take a class. For now, I guess I’ll have to stick to watching Youtube videos. 

You have any hidden artistic aspirations? Tell me about them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

