Mohair Bias Loop

Image

So here is the FO I wanted to show you before I got all wigged out by the gecko. It’s the Mohair Bias Loop by Churchmouse Yarns. It’s basically a wide, bias knit scarf with the ends kitchenered together. And it’s made of mohair. That’s important. That’s what makes it so light and airy. (That’s why her hair is so big. It’s full of secrets.)

 

The yarn is Knit Picks Aloft in Oat. I only used about one and a half balls of it. I knit until the fabric was about 45 inches long before joining and that seemed to be the perfect amount for me.mohairbiasloop2

I was worried about the Kitchener stitch part of the project, because that seemed to be where the most people struggled. I ended up putting the stitches on two reaaaaally long straight needles from my early days of knitting (when I thought it was okay to knit with needles longer than my forearms (plus hands!). While this was a little awkward, I think it was better than circs would have been. I didn’t have too much trouble with the actual Kitchener part. I had the right number of stitches and my yarn only got tangled once, and then it was minor. I did most of it while waiting for the new Doctor Who episode to come on. (Did anyone else see it? It was very Ten and Rose, don’t you think? I enjoyed it.)

Kitchener stitching was the only time I really notice the yarn shedding. This may be due to the black pants, but it might also have something to do with the stitch. I don’t know, but my pants looked comical.

I wore my loop to church on Easter Sunday and it worked like a dream. I love that it can switch between cowl and…shoulder cover? (Don’t you dare say poncho. Don’t even go there.) It was just enough to keep warm. Though beware, nothing wigs out an eyeball like getting a bit of mohair stuck in it. Still not sure how I managed that, but it was uncomfortable.

mohairbiasloop1

I’m totally sold on mohair as a yarn. It’s so interesting to work with and the final product is so delicate, yet useful. I will definitely be knitting with more mohair in the future, and maybe even knitting this pattern again.

 

One thought on “Mohair Bias Loop

Leave a Reply

