Happy Easter

I hope everyone had a happy Easter. Whether you celebrate it or not, I hope it was happy. As you can imagine, Easter had added an extra bit of hectic to my weekend (hence, the lack of posts.) I’ve been using up any spare time getting my homework done. Okay, maybe there were a few times I got distracted by the internet, but still..

I just did typical family stuff for Easter. You know, Church, family gets together, everyone brings food, you invariably get a headache…

The usual.

But I wanted to talk about something my mom and I did for her Sunday school class. We made “resurrection rolls”. They are made by dipping a marshmallow in butter, rolling it in cinnamon sugar, wrapping it in a crescent roll, and baking it. However, they are also very involved metaphors for Jesus.

See, Jesus is the marshmallow.

Image

Yeaaaaah…..about that? Not buying it.

But the marshmallow is supposed to represent Jesus, all white and pure, and then you anoint Jesus with oils (butter) and spices(cinnamon), and I guess we’re not telling the kids that this is his dead body we’re anointing, but it must be because the next step is putting Jesus in his “tomb”. His buttery, flaky tomb.

Image

When you bake the rolls, the marshmallow is supposed to magically melt away, leaving a hole in the middle of the roll, to represent the empty tomb. To me, that’s actually a pretty cool was of making an interactive instruction for kids about the Resurrection(though I’m not sure if the whole “Jesus is a marshmallow” spiel is working for me.).

Theeeere’s just one problem…

ImageSometimes Marshmallow-Metaphor-Jesus doesn’t always make it all the way out of the tomb . It kinda kills the metaphor in a major way. It also makes you need to clean your oven.

My mom and I found that these rolls work correctly approximately…50% of the time, and that’s a generous estimate. They worked a lot better when only used half a marshmallow for each, but they still got a little ghostbusters on us. However, they were pretty tasty, so I didn’t mind putting the rejects out of their misery. Mom said some of her Sunday school kids didn’t like them, though. What’s up with that? All that work and they weren’t even that into them?? Yeah.. I’m not going to tell you never to make these. They’re an engaging lesson certainly, but make them at your own risk, and know that there might be some strange child who doesn’t like sugary, buttery goodness.

March 2013 894

 

Perhaps they’d like to clean your muffin pan instead…

Leave a Reply

