What I’m Into This Week

It’s been a very busy week and my knitting has almost been nonexistent, so I’m going to post about other stuff tonight. I’m gonna talk about the stiff that has been catching my attention this week (when I’m not worrying about schoolwork).

Image from Ravelry- Mohair Bias Loop Pattern by Churchmouse Yarns and Teas
  • Churchmouse Yarns. I’ve been loving their designs this week. I sadly came to the decision that my green yarn was not working very well with their Honeycomb Mesh Scarf, but that doesn’t diminish my love for their design. I love their simple style and clean lines. Just tonight I cast on for their Mohair Bias Loop, which is a design that I’ve been eyeing for a while. I’ve never knit with mohair before, so this should be interesting!
  • Lizzie Bennet Diaries Mug from DFTBA.com

    Lizzie. Bennet. Diaries. Hoooooly crap. This week’s episodes… *sigh*… So good. I’m sad that it’s going to be ending soon, because man, it’s amazing. I actually got a coworker into it, so now I can talk about it with someone! There’s a kickstarter fund going to get them made into dvds, which I think I might have to contribute to. Also, I want like half of their merchandise. Especially this mug. Jane Bennet had some of the best lines in this adaptation.

  • Fernando Ortega. I’ve always been a big fan of Fernando Ortega’s music, but this week I’ve been really into it. It might be because my parents just bought his new CD. Plus, it’s just so relaxing. I appreciate his ability to create praise music that does not require trumpets or massive crescendos. Sometimes quiet simplicity makes more of an impact.
  • Rise of the Guardians

  My dad and I have a habit of watching kids movies more than any other type of movies. Two weeks ago it was Happy Feet (apparently the sequel was better, according to my dad: authority on all penguin movies.). Last weekend we watched Rise of the Guardians. Then we watched it again. It was pretty cute. I had a few issues with it(1. Jack’s voice is really deep for such a skinny kid and 2. the last line of the movie was lame 3. from the perspective of a Christian, it’s kinda hard to accept Easter being “ruined” as a major plot development.), but overall I enjoyed it. I enjoyed all of the characters and feel like any one of them could have a movie focusing just on their back story. I have a hard time picking a favorite.  One review described it as sort of an animated “Avengers” for kids, and that’s fairly accurate. I actually really liked this movie. It was visually impressive, the characters were great, the story had a few holes but was good overall. I really want to read the books that inspired the movie now.

I think that’s all I’ve got for this week. April is going to be a rough month and I’m just gearing up for it. I have so many response papers that I have to do and keep up with my regular classwork on top of that. It’s stressing my out in a major way. But I’m also really excited for the Fiber Fest which is coming up. I’ve been saving my money for it. I want to buy some color!

How have your weeks been? Have you had any obsessions lately?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Into This Week

    1. The casting was amazing! I’m sad that it’s ending too, but they’ve got more stuff planned. Gigi is starring in an adaptation of Sandition and they’re going to adapt another book (not sure which one yet).

      1. Lydia and Mr Collins are both in School of Thrones. Which had promise but I was more interested in the knitting pattern for Lydia’s headband she was wearing.

Leave a Reply

