Image

Every once in a while, I try a craft other than knitting. It serves to remind me how much I like knitting. One of theses crafts that I attempt to take up is quilting. It only makes sense. My mom is an avid quilter and works at a quilt shop (or shoppe, depending on how fake-medieval you’re feeling). She’s had it in her mind now that I need to finish this project that I’ve had laying around for years. So today, I finished my first quilt top.

Image

It has a bigger blue border on the outside now, but I didn’t get a picture of it. The work is by no means stellar. I’m a little embarrassed at how poorly the corners meet in some places, but it’s not bad for a first try. Especially since most of the seams were sewn in frustration.

I swear, nothing gets my cranky like sewing. I like the idea of sewing. I really do. However, I’m the kind of sewer who will sew one seam right side out and the other wrong side out and after you do that a couple times…you get a little grumpy. Getting stabbed with pins can also do that to you. I think I’m much better as a garment sewer, since it doesn’t have to turn out a perfect rectangle in the end. (Am I the only one who is bothered that “sewer” can mean “one who sews” and “giant poop tube” with the only difference being context? Someone make a new word here!)

When it comes to making quilts, I’m not sure if it’s my time just yet. I love quilts, and I like the thought of making them, but it just doesn’t interest me like knitting. I like my hobbies to leave me satisfied, rather than cranky.  I’m sure my time for quilting will come, but I don’t think it’s now.

P.S.

I tried to take my (indoor)cat for a walk today.

ImageStep one of walking a cat: Admit defeat.

Image

Step two: Allow cat to do what it will.

ImageStep three: Seriously question who owns who.

Hope that amused you. But now, goodnight!

One thought on “Sewing Firsts

Leave a Reply

