Old FO Tuesday

I’m becoming a real fan of Old FO Tuesdays because I don’t have to worry about doing something interesting on Tuesdays. Because I’ve already done something interesting sometime in the past.

Like make this hat.

Image

This hat was actually a project a few semesters back for my Humanities class. We had to make art inspired by other art, and I decided to go with what I knew and did the knitting-is-art route. Because knitting is art, and no one can convince me otherwise.

This hat is inspired by the Rose Window (one of them) at Reims Cathedral in France. I worked out all the colorwork by myself (and often by the seat of my pants.) and used the pattern Purl Beret as a base pattern. The yarn is Knit Picks Palette (which I spell-check every time) since I had it on hand and didn’t have time to look for anything else, since it was a class assignment.

Image

I was pretty pleased with how it turned out. It’s not perfect by any means, but it’s good for a beginner in colorwork.  I had only done one other knitting project with colorwork, and none where I charted my own. It took a lot of trial and error, and my decreases are…creative at best. But it worked out in the end.  I ended up with a pretty nice hat at the end of the project. I got an A on the project too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

