Busy Busy!

Sorry for the lack of posts this week. The days have just been running away with me. There were days this week when I was away from home for fourteen hours at a time.  Then there was an essay to write and reading to do…Talk about tired! It’s been stressful, but I’ve also done some really fun stuff too!

ImageI got to go to a concert last night at my school. I have a friend who is in the Winds Ensemble and she can usually get a few friends in for free. I love going to them. I think this one was my all time favorite. Hands down. I’ve never had so much fun at a concert. There was a gospel choir involved, and they made some hands clapping, body swaying, raise-the-roof music. My hands were red from clapping for half an hour after the concert. 

ImageThe other fun thing I did was find a new yarn store! and get lost in downtown Dallas, but we won’t talk about that..

The Shabby Sheep is an adorable little yarn shop nestled in a tiny quiet pocket of big, scary, loud Dallas (freeways!). I had a hard time finding it at first, but I got there eventually. It’s in this really cute shopping center where each shop is a little house.

ImageThe atmosphere is great at The Shabby Sheep. It’s the friendliest yarn shop I’ve been in for sure. I had my camera with me, and asked shyly if I would be allowed to take pictures (I’ve had shop owners jump all over me for taking picture before.) and they were so nice and gracious about it. They also made an effort to learn my name and find out about the kind of knitting I liked to do. I was a little suprised at how friendly it was. I’m not used to such things. The yarn selection itself is nice too. There are some nice, hand dyed yarn lines that I’d never seen before. They also have the basic workhorse yarns too. I didn’t have much to spend, but I did get a little something. You can’t see it yet though. I think it’s going to be my reward for the month of February. 

Another thing that they did that I really liked was that they sold little mini skeins. Perfect for my Beekeeper’s Quilt! I’d toyed with the idea of buying some mini skeins online, but it never seemed worth paying the shipping. Now I can get them without paying for shipping! I’m going to be buying these like candy. And why not? It’s cheaper than a latte.

Image

 

If you’re going to be in the Dallas area anytime soon, definitely make time to stop at The Shabby Sheep. It is by far the friendliest, coziest little yarn shop I’ve been in. I can sense that I’ll be visiting a lot in my future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

