Old FO Tuesday! Molly Edition

Image

Today’s old FO is a hat by the name of Molly. It’s big and stretchy and veeery slouchy, but also  comfortable. Though I sometimes struggle with wearing hats because they push all my hair forward into my face. That really bothers me, especially in the winter when the static is CRAZY. My hair gets out of control. I think I’m going to try pinning it back a little bit with the hat. That way, it’ll help the hat stay on as well.

Image

I liked Molly for it’s single cable detail. It was similar to a Jared Flood pattern, except it was free. You know I’m a sucker for free. I didn’t have any problems with it, and it was an easy knit.

Image

But lets talk about the yarn. I do not like this yarn. I’m glad I made a hat with it so I don’t really have to feel it on my skin. It’s scratchy. Not scratchy enough to be rustic, but scratchy enough to make me seriously think about Caron Simply Soft (my yarn ex). It’s Ella Rae, which I got from the Wooly Ewe on sale one of the few times I went. It’s their substitute for Cascade yarns, which I have never tried. I assume they are better quality. I like the color, and I still do, but it’s not worth the yarn. I’ve read the reviews for this yarn on Ravelry too, and many people have said that even though it is labeled as superwash, it has felted. That is probably the worst possible lie to have about a yarn. If you have the gauge or the weight off, that can be forgiven. I can work with that. But promising superwash and not delivering can be devastating. I’m glad I read the comments on this yarn first before I tried washing it.

Yarn aside, I enjoyed this project. I like the pattern. It makes a pretty hat. If I were to make it again I might not make it quite as slouchy, but that’s just personal preference. If you’re looking for a quick, cute, slouchy (free) hat pattern, I would definitely recommend Molly

 

 

Leave a Reply

