Stripe Study

It’s done! It’s finished! *trumpets sound*

Yes, folks, I have done it. After much anticipation and some shaky knitting on the freeway (I wasn’t driving, but remind me to tell you a story about that sometime…) I finally finished my Stripe Study!

Image

I love it. It is, like, the comfiest thing ever. I’ve been wearing it all day. It did a great job keeping me warm at church and at Target (Land of Wonders), both notoriously chilly places.

Image

I only did eleven stripes instead of the twelve that the pattern called for. I would have had enough yarn to do all twelve stripes, but I kind of wanted some of the yarn for my Beekeeper’s Quilt. Shh, Don’t tell the Stripe Study. It might get jealous. It’s plenty big with eleven stripes anyways. I think twelve stripes might have made it too big, because it’s the perfect size right now.Image

I used Knit Picks Stroll in Mustard for the yellow. It’s discontinued now. I bought it on clearance when it was going out. I had envisioned a pair of cabled socks, but then I remembered that I don’t wear my sock that I knit, so it sat on the shelf…and waited…for a whole year. And well, you know how the story ends. The gray yarn was Deborah Norville Serenity Sock Yarn. I found it to be pretty splitty. It was softer than the Stroll, though I doubt it will be as sturdy. I don’t know that I’d work with it again. Stroll is cheap enough and I’ve always had good experiences with it.Image

As for the pattern, it was wonderfully done. It was clear and concise and super simple. I think this would be a great project for a new knitter who wants to try out a few new techniques. I would definitely knit this again. I’m already thinking of other color combinations. I’m thinking gray and white…navy and cream….brown and tan…

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stripe Study

Leave a Reply

