A Good Day for Mail

Today was a good day for mail. Not only did I get the textbook I’ve been needing all week(plus a few others), I got my yarn from Knit Picks!Image

This yarn is essentially my Christmas present from my Grandma.  Really she just gave me money and told me to get what I wanted, and I wanted yarn. But that means that technically this yarn is her gift to me. Good choice, Grandma! Just what I wanted.

Image

 

Look at it all. So pretty….I tried to take pictures as I unwrapped it so I could share the joy with you, but apparently unwrapping a box of yarn is frowned upon while Dad is watching The Mentalist. Too much crinkly plastic. But I can show you what I got.

ImageFirst, I got some Cotlin in the color Linen. I’ve never tried it before. I thought it might be a good thing for me, since Texas is brutal in the summer, but I don’t want to stop wearing my knits. So I was hoping I could make a little summery top with it. I’m thinking maybe Gemini by Jane Richmond or the Spring Garden Tee by Alana Dakos.Image

Next out of the box we’ve got Brava Bulky in Dove Heather. No ifs, ands or buts about this, this yarn is going to be an Aidez cardigan. I’ve been loving this pattern since I first laid eyes on it, and since I was so happy with the Brava Worsted I made my Miette in, I decided to get more to make Aidez. It makes for a very thrifty sweater (and we all know how I love thrift.) I don’t think I’ll be able to resist casting on for this. It will happen very soon!

Image

 

The last yarn that I got was some Simply Cotton is Brass Heather. It was being discontinued, so it was super cheap. But really I bought it for the color. Just look at that color! It’s yellow without being school bus and those hints of orange and green just make it so pretty. I feel like I’ve been looking for this color all my life. I have no idea what I’m going to make with it, but I got enough for a sweater. I just haven’t found the pattern the fits with what I have in mind. Maybe I’ll improvise a bit.

…ooohh…scary.

I am so close to finishing my Stripe Study. Just another inch left on the border. Hopefully, *fingers crossed* I’ll be able to finish it tomorrow and get it blocked. Then maybe I can play with my new yarn! Wheee..mail is so fun!

 

Leave a Reply

