Hexagonal

The hexipuff craze…. It has begun!Image

Here you witness the first hexipuff of many. Hopefully (unless I get bored with the project and only make, like, six.). If you’re on Ravelry, you’ve most likely seen the pattern for the Beekeeper’s Quilt by Tiny Owl Knits. I’ve got to admit, at first I was skeptical. Would it actually feasibly work as a blanket? Would it stay together? Curious, I started scanning the project pages to see if anyone had actually made and effective blanket with it and had any helpful information (reviews on blanket effectiveness have yet to be found.). But then I kept looking, and looking, project after project. I think it was the colors that did it. Or the squish factor. I couldn’t help it. I was already making a hexipuff.

Image

I didn’t buy the pattern, I just made up my own for the puff. I couldn’t justify buying a pattern for something smaller than the palm of my hand. Surely I could figure that out. After a few false starts, I got the puff figured out. Then I had to go up into the scary attic to figure out where Mom put my fiber fill/ stuffing/fluff. That was an adventure, let me tell you. Probably should have taken off the high heeled boots first…Image

Another thing that drew me to this pattern, this isn’t the first time I’ve worked with hexagons. Most quilters refer to the pattern as Grandmother’s Flower Garden. I refer to it as Something Tori Could Actually Make. Like with the yarn, it satisfied my need to play with color. Aren’t those batiks pretty?Image

The funny thing was, my hexipuff turned our the exact same size as the hexagons in my quilt! How cool is that?

I don’t knit with sock yarn very often, so I don’t have a lot of scraps for making hexipuffs, but I have enough to get me started. Heck, I’ve already finished hexipuff #2!

Leave a Reply

