Thrifty Knitting

When I haven’t been knitting and/or watching Lord of the Rings(I just got the extended version of Return of the King! It’s definitely extended.) I have been working on another project…

Image

 

On one of my many and frequent trips to Salvation Army I picked up this sweater. Don’t let the price tag fool you, blue tags were 50% off that day. I was actually $2.50. “But wait!” you say. It looks like it has a hole. That is okay. Because, ladies and gentlemen, this is what has  been happening to this sweater.

Image

Image

 

That’s right folks! I am unraveling my first sweater! It’s something I’ve been wanting to try for a long time, being cheap as heck. It seemed like a way to get cheap access to nice yarn, though sweaters made of nice yarn can be few and far between at the thrift store. But this sweater is some niiice yarn.

ImageKnitter’s don’t pass that up. Even if you’ve never unraveled a sweater before, when you see a $2.50 cashmere sweater with a hole in it, you buy that crap! Dawn, at My Virtual Sanity has a wonderfully helpful tutorial about taking apart sweaters for their yarn. I consulted it heavily. It was waaaay easier than I thought it would be. I was afraid the yarn would come apart in a million little strings in my hands but it unraveled just like any normal yarn.  It’s about fingering weight too, which is good because I was worried it would come out cobweb thin. I’ve unraveled the sleeves and the front and still need to do the back. Now I’m just trying to figure out what to do with it. I’m pretty sure that I want to dye it, the light blue is not working for me. I haven’t decided what color though. I cant decide what to make out of it either.  It’s super soft, so I’m thinking a scarf or a cowl but can’t decide on a pattern. Any suggestions?

 

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Knitting

    1. It is a bit harder if you don’t have a swift(wooden winder thing). The swift helps to keep the unraveled yarn from becoming a tangled mess, and makes winding it into a ball easier. But before I owned a swift I just wrapped yarn around the backs of chairs.:P Also, if you have someone handy with woodworking, you can make your own swift. My Grandpa made mine for me.

Leave a Reply

