Busy Weekend

Image

 

Sorry for the silence. It’s been a busy weekend. Saturday we got up early to go on an adventure  We visited a soda fountain/apothecary/gift shop/diner/quilt store(all in one!) called the Ben Franklin. It was interesting, but not worth the hour drive in the torrential rain to get there. But afterwards I got to go to a yarn store. It was called Yarn and Stitches and it was teeeeeeny tiny. They had a lot of nice stuff though, except it was hard to tell the prices, because they weren’t on the yarn, but on the shelves, and then only occasionally. I didn’t buy anything, because I was trying to be good. And because I have to buy textbooks again. Textbook are frustratingly, outrageously expensive. Just paying for them stresses me out because it’s so much money leaving my bank account, so I knew that I’d feel especially stressed(not to mention guilty) if I bought yarn right before buying textbooks. But I digress..

Image

 

After we got back from our Adventure we had to prepare the house to have family over. They came over for dinner and then we watched Brave. I love Brave. I think it’s the Scottish accents. Then Sunday there was church and a birthday party for a family friend. 

However, amid all of the hustle and the bustle of the weekend, I did manage to finish Ripley.  Image

It’s still not exactly what it’s fallen predecessor was, but it’s nice. I don’t think I’m ever going to make a hat exactly like the one that got felted, which is a shame, but it’s still a solid hat pattern.Image

Sometimes I still struggle to figure out where the heck on my forehead it’s supposed to sit. I’m still not entirely sure. 

While my weekend was fun, it was a little bittersweet knowing that it was the last one before going back to school. Don’t get me wrong, I love school. But it’s a lot of stress. It always seems like the stakes are so high, like “I must get good grades because if I don’t I might lose my scholarships and if I lose my scholarships I might not be able to afford to go and then I’ll be one of those dropout while everyone else graduated and wonders why I’m such a failure.” I realize that’s a bit melodramatic, but that’s how it can feel sometimes. So while I’m excited for learning cool stuff in my classes, I’m not excited for the stress. But I should probably go and buy textbooks now… I’ve been putting it off. Amazon, here I come!

Leave a Reply

