Nae I Say!

ImageI have passed the halfway point in Nae and it’s all downhill from here! I love knitting sideways shawls like this because they go faster as you get closer to the end. It cuts down on the impatient anticipation of the finished product. It also helps because I have a bad habit of knitting faster when I’m afraid of running out of yarn. It’s as if the yarn is not measured in yards, but in time. If I can only beat the yarn to the finish line, I’ll have enough yarn to finish my project. So sideways shawls that require less and less yarn as you get closer to then end(while requiring you to knit less and less stitches) are great. 

I’m really excited to finish this shawl. It doesn’t look like much now(which is why I haven’t really given you a good picture of it yet), but with a good blocking, I can tell this thing is going to look gorgeous. Plus the yarn is really yummy. This is the first time I’ve used Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light and I’ve been pretty impressed. While it doesn’t feel particularly extraordinary in the skein, the fabric it makes is delicious. My hand will brush against it as I knit and I just think, “mmmm. Yes. This will feel good on my neck.”

I’m trying to finish this quickly so I can squeeze as much knitting into the winter break as I can, but I might have to slow down just a little bit. I am feeling a bit of a cold coming on in the back of my throat and nose. I’ve lost count of how many cups of tea with honey I’ve had today, as well as how long I’ve had a headache(two days at least.). It’s rather frustrating to get sick just as I’m trying to relax and rest up for the next semester. In fact, it’s leaving me feeling a bit like Calvin.

Image

2 thoughts on “Nae I Say!

  1. Did you find the pattern confusing? I’ve read it several times and can’t figure out when to begin the Body section (and are those two rows really the body, or meant to be repeated?) plus it doesn’t show when or how to begin the decreases. So my yarn is sitting and I may have to chose a different project. 😦

    1. It can be a bit confusing just because of how she labelled the seed stitch and stockinette sections. It’s been a while since I’ve looked at the pattern, but I’ll try my best to interpret it. Top edge = seed stitch border and body = stockinette. Basically, you will increase the seed stitch border until you have 20 stitches and then that section will remain at 20 stitches of seed stitch. After you have reached 20 stitches of seed stitch you will start the body increases, those two rows you mentioned. You will repeat those rows, increasing the stitches until you have 100 stitches (120 total if you count the seed stitch). Then you would do the center panel of all seed stitch with no increases. After the center seed stitck section is done, you would just reverse the process of the increases by decreasing when before you were increasing. I hope that helps you a little bit. If not, I would try contacting the designer, since I remember her being very kind.

Leave a Reply

