Clapotis Scarf

Anyone who has been on Ravelry knows that the Clapotis pattern is hugely popular. So being the typical free and independent thinker that I am, I had to try it. The conclusion: it’s a lovely pattern. I modified mine a bit, and made a scarf version out of lace weight, rather than the shawl size out of fingering weight, because:

1. That way I could get it done in one skein of Malabrigo Lace(way more cost effective. Because I’m poor.)

and 2. Malabrigo Lace.

That being said, it’s probably not the best yarn for this pattern. Is is soft as a kitten? Yes. Are it’s colors amazing and breathtaking and beautiful? Yes. But here’s the problem. Malabrigo Lace likes itself just as much as everyone else in their right mind likes it. It sticks to itself like crazy. So those dropped stitches? You know, the focal point of the pattern? They don’t want to drop. You literally have to rip every. single. stitch. out.

Totally worth it though. Would I knit this again? Heck yes! I want one in every color.

Technical Babble:

I only did five repeats of the 12 row increase section, and one repeat of the 6 row increase section. At that point I weighed the remaining yarn to see how much I’d need for the decreases. Then I knit the straight section until I had that much left. When I reached that weight I started doing the decreases. It was nail bitingly close, but I feel like I got the maximum amount of scarf for my yarn. Hardly any left over! The pattern opens up quite a bit with blocking(the picture above shows it before blocking.). The pattern says that blocking is optional, but the lace weight needed it.

 

Leave a Reply

